The Seaside Prize

The Seaside Prize 2019

The Seaside Prize 2019


Nearly 70 years ago, neighbors knew neighbors; children played in their yards freely, and your neighborhood grocer knew everyone by name.  Times were simple, and people were more connected with their community and everyone in it.  Townspeople were unified with the lives and hopes for family and friends throughout their community. We were strengthened and safe in our relationships with the people and our neighborhoods.  Somewhere along the way, the deeper interpersonal bonds with our communities were lost and with it, the sense of place and belonging.

The 2019 Seaside Prize Winners have been integral in creating homes and communities in which we live. From Seaside and beyond they have left an indelible mark on our way of life.

Thank you for supporting us in our efforts to ensure that Walkable, Sustainable and Connected Communities are the future for a quality lifestyle not just for some but for all.

Tom Christ

Thomas Christ, Principal Architect of the firm, came from Miami in 1984 after working with Andres Duany and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk at the architectural firm DPZ, helping to create the initial concepts, images, and some of the first homes in Seaside, Florida, the world renowned new urbanism community. Christ has designed over 90 homes and structures in the community, making him Seaside’s most prolific designer and winning the firm a number of design awards along the way.

Christ has also designed numerous homes in nearby traditional planned developments such as WaterColor, WaterSound, Alys Beach, and Rosemary Beach.

Richard Gibbs

Educated at the Rhode Island School of Design, is the Principal in R.M. Gibbs design  which he started in 1975.   In 1986 he designed and built a home in the early years of Seaside (1986) ultimately designing  homes I in the New Urban Community; In 1990 he became  the Town Architect for Seaside at the invitation of Robert Davis in 1990.   Six years later he became the Town Architect for Rosemary beach and then afterward created the Community of Draper Lake Coastal Village in Santa Rosa Beach and Brewster Point in Rockport Maine.

John Massengale

An architect and urban designer in New York City who has won awards for Architecture Urban Design, architectural preservation and architectural history.   “Place” is at the heart of everything he designs and studies.  From cities and streets to buildings and rooms, he emphasizes making places where people want to be.

Derrick Smith

A native Miamian he has a Bachelor of Science in Interior Design from Florida State University, a Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Miami and a Masters of Architecture from Harvard University. Derrick has worked for notable architectural firms including those of Seaside Prize Fellows Andres Duany (1993) & Elizabeth Plater- Zyberk (1993) and Robert A.M. Stern (1999).

In 1982 Derrick started working for Duany & Plater Zyberk on the plan of Seaside and is one of the original members of the design team known as the Night Crew. As a part of this group a door was opened for him to serve the Community of Seaside as an Independent Designer and ultimately as the Town Architect in 1985.

Charles Warren

He is a graduate of Skidmore College and holds and Master of Architecture from Columbia University. At Columbia he was a teaching assistant for Robert A.M. Stern and began his professional career in Stern’s office, where he was lead architect on numerous projects.

In 1987 Warren was the Muschenheim Fellow at the University of Michigan and for a number of years he taught design studios there. In 1990-91 he served as Town Architect in Seaside.

Warren is a former trustee of the Library of American Landscape History. He is president of the Committee to Save the New York Public Library, an organization advocating the preservation of the library designed by Carrère & Hastings.